food

Mexican Cabbage Salsa

Hello everyone! For my first food related post I wanted to share an absolute favorite….my Mexican Cabbage Salsa. I am a total fanatic for salsa and Mexican food and my motto is “The Hotter the Better”! Sadly, my husband and daughter do not share this love of mine which is okay because that just means more for me! 🙂 This recipe is simple, easy and yummy! Here you go:

 

cabbagesalsa

Mexican Cabbage Salsa

1 medium head of cabbage, coarsely chopped

4 Roma tomatoes, chopped

½ C yellow onion, chopped

1 or 2 jalapeno peppers, chopped (I include the seeds)

2 tbsp lime juice

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried cilantro leaves

Chop the first four ingredients and place into a large bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and toss well.

I love to eat this just like a salad. It is also good on burritos, tacos and eggs. You’ve probably noticed I didn’t use a couple of fresh ingredients for this salsa. While I love Mexican food I am not fond of fresh cilantro. It is too strong for me plus it’s very frustrating mincing it up how it would rather stay on my knife than be in the bowl! Messy, messy. As far as the garlic goes…I really love garlic but I usually don’t have any on hand. It’s just as easy for me to reach into the cupboard for the dried stuff. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!

 

lisa

One thought on “Mexican Cabbage Salsa

Leave a Reply

