food

My Nuwave Oven Review and Meatloaf Recipe

Hello everyone, I hope you all had a great weekend. It’s been hot here in northern Idaho and it’s days like today that I am thankful that my mom surprised me with a Nuwave Oven Pro. I’ve had it for a little over a year and I just love it. No heating up the whole house with a hot oven! Before my Nuwave I hated using the oven just for a couple of corn dogs or maybe a few chicken nuggets. Even other little things like garlic bread or pizza just seemed to be a waste of energy in the big oven. Not so with my Nuwave! And when my daughter says she’s hungry she doesn’t want to wait for the oven to preheat and then have to wait for cook time on top of that. (Those of you with young children will understand. 🙂 )The Nuwave doesn’t have to preheat….AND you can cook from frozen! For example, I like to make pork roast and it’s so easy to just take it from the freezer, set it in the Nuwave on ‘high’ (which I believe is 350°), and let it go for about an hour and a half. It cooks using conduction, convection and infrared heat. I would guess, in my year of using the Nuwave, that cooking times are about half what they would be in the oven. Here’s a little list of what I’ve found works for me:

  • Corn dogs – 4″ rack, power level HI, 7 minutes each side
  • Chicken nuggets – 4″ rack, power level HI, 6 minutes each side
  • Chicken breasts (frozen) – 4″ rack, power level HI, 12 minutes each side (I usually make 3 big ones at a time).
  • Personal size pizza – 4″ rack, power level HI, 5 minutes upside down, 4 minutes right side up. (First, make a square of aluminum foil that is slightly larger than your pizza and spray it with PAM. Set it on the rack and place your pizza upside down on it. After 4 minutes is up turn the pizza over, remove the foil, and cook another 5 minutes). Full size pizzas, increase time to 8 minutes and 7 minutes.
  • Pork roast (2#, frozen) – 1″ rack sprayed with PAM, power level HI, 1.5 – 2 hours (Use a meat thermometer to ensure an internal temperature of 170° F has been reached).

I would have to say my least favorite thing about this unit is that the dome has cracked to the point that I can no longer use it. 😦 Too much heat is escaping to make my food get done properly. I’m planning on purchasing the upgraded unit (The Power Dome). I find it funny that it is an amber color, since that is the color that my clear one has pretty much turned to with use.

Anyways, here’s my meatloaf recipe and I hope you enjoy it!

meatloaf

1/2 C ketchup

1 TB yellow mustard

1 TB brown sugar, packed

1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 egg

1 brick of Saltine crackers

1 lb ground beef (I use 15%)

 Directions:

Combine the first nine ingredients in a large bowl. Set aside. Place Saltine crackers into a gallon storage bag and seal. Use a rolling pin to crush crackers into a coarse powder. Add this to the first mixture and stir well. Next add the hamburger and use your hands to mix everything together. Form into a loaf and place directly on 1-inch rack (spray rack with PAM olive oil non-stick spray first) and cook on power level high for 25-30 minutes.

UPDATE 4/13/16: I replaced my old, cracked dome with the new amber colored dome from NuWave. I HATE it! Maybe I should of paid attention to the dimensions but you’d think they’d be the same size, right? WRONG! The new dome is like 2 inches shorter… meaning I can’t use my 4″ rack unless I use the extender ring. If I don’t use the extender then I have to use the 2-inch rack which makes the distance from the power head to the food greater than with my old dome which means increased cooking times! My meatloaf took forever to get done! I like the amber color and it seems sturdier but they really screwed up changing the height of this dome.

Thanks for stopping by and spending time with me!

lisa

 

 

One thought on “My Nuwave Oven Review and Meatloaf Recipe

  1. Thanks Lisa my meatloaf turn out exceptionally well.everyone love it I’ll will be referring my family to your recipe.have a Bless and Happy Thanksgiving.

    Like

Leave a Reply

