crochet

Crochet Earflap Hats

Well here they are… the crochet owl hats I said I was going to make. I love these! There are so many different variations you can do of this hat… awake, asleep, half asleep, buttons, no buttons, flower, bow, ears….the possibilities are endless! My first owl hat, the purple one with button eyes, was created from a pattern designed by Sarah at Repeat Crafter Me and can be found here. Her pattern includes sizes from newborn to adult. (Note: I added the flower).

owlhat03

For my other owl hats, I experimented with different eyes and beaks and I added ears and flowers. So cute!

owlhat01owlhat02

My 5 year old just loved this owl hat so I let her pick her colors and I crocheted her one. The great thing about this is I found a free pattern for an owl hat that fits an American Girl Doll so I was able to make matching hats! SCORE!! The doll hat pattern is by Kathy Russell and can be found on her blog at Just Knitting Away. This little hat will also fit other 18″ dolls as well.

owlhat06 owlhat05

I think I have found my staple earflap hat pattern from which to base other types of character hats, like this monster hat I made! I plan to try more monsters, puppies, a penguin, bears, cows, horses, birds….. all so cute!!

monsterhat01

And how about these earflap snowman hats? They are also by Sarah at Repeat Crafter Me. I didn’t use buttons on the first snowman hat, however. I just made up the face. 🙂

snowmanhat01 snowmanhat02

Thank you for stopping by and spending time with me!

Have a great day!

lisa

 

 

Leave a Reply

