food

Frozen Cake Fail

With my daughter’s birthday coming up in a few short weeks I have been madly planning her party. She loves the movie Frozen, so that’s what she wants as her theme. Holy cow the cost of just decorations and tableware is… Yikes! And I’m still figuring out games, treats and favors. (Is all this stuff really necessary, anyways?)

She found the cake she wanted. A 3-tiered snowy mountain complete with Elsa’s lit up castle on top, Elsa herself, Anna and Olaf. I thought it was perfect… until I found out it was $60! It wasn’t easy to let a 5 year old down and try to explain why we couldn’t get her special-picked cake. So we compromised. I purchased the castle topper and Elsa, Anna and Olaf and I would try to make the cake myself. How hard could it be, right? Well… you be the judge!

image

Um… FAIL! I spent hours making this thing from scratch; the white cake and the buttercream frosting. When I was finished it was more like an active volcano with smurf-blue molten lava running down the sides. Or they are riding the waves in an ocean storm. My daughter said it best, though… she said the ‘snow’ was melting. Dang global warming! Sure enough, the castle started to tip like the leaning tower of Pisa and you could literally almost watch Elsa, Anna and Olaf ski down the mountain.

I think we will be purchasing a ready-made sheet cake and plopping the cake toppings on that. 🙂

 

Have a great day!

lisa

2 thoughts on “Frozen Cake Fail

Leave a Reply

