food

Lisa’s Hot Salsa

Hello everyone! Spring is finally here, the Robins are back and I’m itching to get my garden up and going. Currently, though, it’s a weedy, big mud pit so it’ll have to wait. The seeds I have started inside haven’t sprouted anyways… ugh.

I may have to remove a tree and rototiller part of my backyard but I plan to try and include in this years’ crop: sweet corn, carrots, greenbeans, purple greenbeans, yellow onions, scallions, cucumbers, potatoes, and I usually have 3 kinds of tomatoes and 8 different pepper plants.

Which brings me to this post;  I thought I would take a little break from all the crochet posts and share something else… hot salsa! Okay, not actually the salsa but my recipe for it  🙂 I’ve had many requests for it in the past from those brave enough to try it… but I never got around to sharing. So here it is! ¡Buen provecho!

Lisa’s Hot Salsa

http://www.therustedpansy.wordpress.com

20130904_212759-1-1-1

Makes 2½ quarts

5 lbs tomatoes (Romas preferred, with skins and seeds)

1½ lbs peppers (I prefer 20 jalapenos & 10 Serrano chilies, with seeds. If you don’t like it hot, try using just “Fooled You” jalapenos. No heat but still jalapeno flavor:) )

1 medium yellow onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

3 TB sugar

1½ TB salt

1 TB lime juice

1 TB vinegar

1 TB dried cilantro (You could use fresh but I find it too overpowering)

½ tsp cumin (the secret ingredient! Shhh!)

Chop tomatoes in a food processor or chop by hand. Place processed tomatoes into a large mixing bowl, set aside.

Next, process small batches of hot peppers at a time and add to the tomatoes.

Lastly, process the onion and add it to the tomato and hot pepper mixture.

Add remaining ingredients and stir well.

Taste and adjust as needed.

Store in the refrigerator.

I am a sucker for spicy, hot Mexican food. Fried jalapenos are awesome, I love the smell of fresh garlic and I eat onions like some people eat apples… yes, I know. I’m crazy! I get it from my mom… she is 86, enjoys garlic and onions as I do and still always has fresh, hot salsa in her refrigerator 🙂  Love you Mom!

Do you like Mexican food? Let me know if you were brave enough to try my salsa!

3 thoughts on “Lisa’s Hot Salsa

  1. Yum! I just got a new food processor around Christmas time so I’m always on the lookout for reasons to use it! We love spicy food in my house too and a jar of salsa on hand is great for a quick snack or a spicy condiment on burgers and sandwiches!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

