food

Summer Pickled Onions

I think there must be something in the air. I just can’t seem to find the enthusiasm to work on my crochet appliques. I started one, finished it and it just wasn’t working for me so I cut the whole thing off my granny square and started over. You think it’d be simple… I wanted to do my own Mountain Bluebells but I just couldn’t get them the way I liked. So I’m going with a simple flower (nothing specific like I wanted) and a bee. The bee came off my hook easily… wish I could say the same for the darn flower!

So on to another topic…. summer! It is hot here in northern Idaho. That means making a lot of crock pot or skillet meals so I don’t heat up the house using the big oven. And it means BBQ!! Now, my husband says YUCK, but I can’t BBQ without having onions to go with my meal! Especially hamburgers! My mother gave me a recipe for pickled onions. They are quick and easy to make and last all summer in the refrigerator (if they don’t get eaten first!)

 

PICKLED ONIONS

 

  6 +- Yellow onions, evenly sliced

   4 C Sugar

   4 C White distilled vinegar

   ½ C Salt (scant)

   1½ tsp Tumeric

   1½ tsp Celery seed

   1½ tsp Mustard seed

 

The amount of onions you use is going to depend on how big/small they are the number of jars you are making. The pickling juice mixture itself makes about a quart. I usually slice about 7 big onions and end up with one quart jar and one pint jar worth of onions.

 

So, firstly, get out your clothespin and goggles because we need to slice all those onions! When they are all sliced, set them aside.

20170504_123653

 

In a stock pot, mix together the sugar, vinegar, salt, turmeric, celery seed, and mustard seed. Bring to a high heat but DO NOT BOIL.

 

20170504_122622

 

While the mixture is heating up, stuff sliced onions into hot sterilized jars. NOTE: You can use any jar that you can put a lid on! The jars don’t have to be sealed tight with Kerr lids.

Really pack the onions in the jars tight! Don’t worry if you don’t fit all the onion in the jars, you are going to want left over onion for later on. (Depending on the size of your onions you may even have to slice more).

Ladle the hot mixture over the onions till the jar is about 3/4 full. Some of the onions on top won’t be covered but that is okay for now.

Let jars sit about 10 minutes. The onions are going to absorb the hot juice and are going to get soft and ‘shrink’… leaving your once packed jar only half full. This is when you stuff more onions in/add more mixture, and repeat if necessary.

When you are satisfied you aren’t able to stuff any more onions in, use a damp paper towel and wipe the sticky off the rims of your jars and apply lids. (It’s a good idea to wipe the rim after each use, also, so your lid doesn’t become stuck on!) 🙂  Let jars cool before transferring them to the refrigerator, where they should be kept. In 3 to 5 days your onions will be perfect. (I can never wait that long and start eating them the same day!)

 

20170504_131806

Don’t let the Kerr jar and lid fool you… you can use ANY jar that has a lid for this recipe! No canning required!

 

I hope you like them as much as I do! Now back to trying to figure out that crochet wildflower for my afghan…..

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Summer Pickled Onions

  1. I don’t like onions but I do like pickled vegetable recipes that don’t require canning. I usually make some refrigerator pickles and pickled beets. Everyone loves them so I’m sure they would love these (yucky) onions too! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

